Lunchbox Craft

As I mentioned before I was going to attend an altered lunch box crafting class put on by our base arts and crafts shop. Here is what I made

IMG_2061

The container can be purchased through Oriental Trading (a great place for crafting supplies by the way) http://www.orientaltrading.com/design-your-own-tin-purse-a2-65_90055-12-1.fltr?Ntt=tin While it is not the actual “lunchbox” and rather the “purse” style I like it better since I can use it for holding cards or supplies.

I did not take step by step pictures but I will describe how it was done. For the purple and stripped paper we cut two 2 inch strips of paper from a 12 x 12 piece of cardstock. Next we ran them through a Xyron ( http://www.xyron.com ) sticker maker. This adds adhesive to the back of the paper so it can be attached to the tin. One strip covered the front half and the next strip went around the back half with very little overlap. Next we used this awesome double-sided tape (have to find out what brand it was so I can buy some) that was super sticky, to add the ribbon and trim. The wood letters were cut there at the arts and crafts shop by their laser machine. If you cannot get this type of lettering, chipboard or stickers will work. We used assorted CTMH ( http://www.closetomyheart.com )stamps pads to color the letters to coordinate with our papers. I used a couple of shades of purple and some hot pink. These were attached using glue dots.

IMG_2062

The flowers on top were also attached with glue dots and some Stickles (http://rangerink.com/?product=stickles%e2%84%a2-glitter-glue ) glitter glue was put in the center. Lastly we cut several pieces of ribbon to tie to the handle.

I did end up being the only one there. However, the lady and I had a wonderful time talking crafts and current events while working on our projects. Tonight they are doing a beading class which I will not be going to. I figure between sewing, cards, scrapbooks and other assorted crafts I enjoy I don’t need to get involved with another one like beading. Should be a great class based off of the project example she had there.

I really enjoyed making the box and I plan to make more of assorted sizes and shapes after I’ve done my move. I’m going to watch for additional classes that use items I already have so I get more ideas how to utilize them.

Happy Crafting!
Lady Blue

One thought on “Lunchbox Craft

Leave a Reply

