Smash Book

My daughter and I hit up Michaels last week and found all sorts of fun goodies. One thing she really wanted was a smash book. I got her an 8 x 12 3-ring binder one because she liked the way it could have things added to it and it wasn’t too bulky that she couldn’t jam it in her backpack to take around with her. We also picked up a few things she could add to it such as little pockets journal spot cards, stickers. When we got home we did some trading of craft supplies. She shared with me me a couple of things she had picked out and I gave her some stuff from my stash so she would have more goodies to use in her book. Smash books look fun so the next day I went to JoAnns to see what they offered and I found one I liked that is a little smaller than 8 x 10, here it is. It has a “wood grain” chipboard cover that can be decorated which of course I did.

IMG_2263

This is how it looks inside. It has a few tabbed and un-tabbed pages to attach things on. I picked a 3 ring binder so I could add to it but I also didn’t want a big 12 x 12 one in case I wanted to carry it around. This worked out to be perfect for me at about 8 x 10.

IMG_2264

Of course the cover was naked and I decided to use paper to personalize it to my liking. While watching several smash book videos through Pinterest I heard about this great glue by Beacon. It’s called 3 in 1 Advanced Crafting Glue. Fast drying, super strong. I bought some while on my trip to use with the album. This stuff is amazing and I recommend you get some to use for those outer pages or anywhere you want a quick strong bond. (both Joann’s and Michaels had it)

I used paper that looked like denim pants and then used a dark blue for the binding. I used a black perm marker to color the edges of the binder before applying the paper. Why blue? Blue Crafty, Lady Blue, AF Wife, etc 😉

IMG_2266

After that I added these cute Canvas buttons available from CTMH and a strip of lacy ribbon I think I found at Joann’s previously. Before I glued down the lacy bit I put a couple of Tim Holtz brads through it. They have little clock pictures on them. In the middle you can see another piece of paper sticking out. It is a journaling card from Oriental Trading. I forgot to mention when I glued the blue paper to the cover that I created a pocket shape so I could tuck something into it. I plan to add some more stuff to the front and maybe the back once I decide what.

IMG_2430

Of course you can never have enough pockets or places to stash things so I glued this paper I cut at an angle to the inside front cover. Paper is from Die-cuts With a View Timeless Type stack. 8 x 8 paper pack. DCWV has lots of fun papers for any theme. You can see something tucked in the pocket which I will explain in a bit.

IMG_2431

Here is the back cover where I used a different paper from the same pack.

IMG_2432

And finally the insert, a mini album I guess you could call it. I made it buy cutting two 8 x 11.5 pieces of black card-stock, one length-wise and one across the center. Then I scored them in the middle of each across the shortest part and then glued the two together while leaving one side not glued to create an additional pocket (not shown here). Glued on some papers to dress up the pages. These are only half done so when I complete them I will give some more pictures.

IMG_2433

Paper is fun don’t you agree?

Lady Blue

2 thoughts on “Smash Book

  1. Librarian Kat says:

    So creative. I want to see it in real life!

Leave a Reply

