Storage, Library Cards, & Steampunk Crafts

While at Hobby Lobby last week I saw this great cabinet. When I went back on Monday with my daughter and it was still there I snatched it up quick. I love it lol. The drawers are all large enough to fit 12 x 12 scrapbook paper. Right now it is hanging out in the dining room, empty, I will fill it up once we have moved. I have been using a 5 drawer mini dresser thing I got for my daughter when she was a baby to keep her clothes in before we got her nice dresser. (When she outgrew it I re-purposed it for craft items.) The new cabinet will be much nicer and I will use the other one for sewing supplies instead.

IMG_2474

My library card pockets came in the mail too, already doing research on fun ways to use them (other than putting them into books haha). Was a great bargain for 500 of them, paid around five cents a piece.

IMG_2463

The next picture shows this great little box I found at the antique thrift shop place. It is supposed to be for a doll and its clothes but I saw it as a great item to use for Steampunk prop. I’m turning it into an “explorers case”.

IMG_2465

IMG_2466

Here it is after painting the inside black and making some shelves for it using foam-core board. The shelves aren’t glued in yet. I will also be adding a shelf above the books area. I painted it less “thick” to give it the worn look. I have an idea for the outside that I haven’t started yet.

IMG_2475

Close-up of one of the shelves.

IMG_2476

Detail of the “cubbies” created to keep the little bottles separate

IMG_2477

While at the Steampunk convention daughter and I found a lady who was selling assorted cheap pocket-watches and we got two of them. Mine had a man fishing showing on the front which I didn’t care for but it didn’t matter since I was covering it with something else. I added some gears and other parts to a piece of jewelry used for making a broach or necklace pendant. I think it turned out great.

IMG_2478

Last picture shows a couple coin pockets I have inked using Tim Holtz distressing ink. I was testing out how it would look and I will be making more. These will be used in my smash book and other assorted projects. There is an octopus I have added wings to. This will be a pin when I have finished it and be part of the steampunk costume. Finally in the picture are some of the little bottles for the case earlier in the post. I printed out some “labels” and added them using regular Elmers glue watered down a bit. I then added a little distressing ink to make them look aged.

IMG_2479

Been having fun crafting, hope you are too!

Lady Blue

5 thoughts on “Storage, Library Cards, & Steampunk Crafts

  1. What fun! I’m jealous of the cabinet you found. Oh, the things I could tuck away in there!

  2. twistnpout says:

    What awesome finds! A Steampunk convention??? What??? I’m gonna look for one of these in my area. And I am sooooo happy to say, we now have a Hobby Lobby in our neighborhood! but that could be a bad thing. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Librarian Kat says:

    Everything looks really cool. Glad you are blogging about it so I can see what you’re doing.

Leave a Reply

