Halloween Mini Album and Art Journal

In my last post I mentioned I was working on a mini album for Halloween. It is not done yet but it’s mostly there and far enough along that I can show some pictures. All of the Halloween deco in the book were purchased on sale/clearance.

For the cover I added this cute piece which is actually one of those cheap balsa wood ornaments they sell at the craft stores and you paint them yourself. I loved the little ornament (have a witch one too) but really had no idea what to use them for at first but for 49 cents I couldn’t pass up getting a couple lol. I also added a fastener to keep the book closed and a little bat and some fabric flowers.

IMG_4380

This skeleton actually had no bendy legs so he would not fit on the inside cover. I solved that problem by cutting it just above the knee cap bone and re-attached the bottom half of the leg into a more suitable arrangement. He has his cup of poison (probably what killed him) and a picture on the wall. The owl on the next page was actually part of the paper I cut to fit. On the edge of the right page (and all the rest) you can see a piece of black paper hanging out. This part is not completed yet but they will be able to be pulled out and up to four pictures added to each of them. (or tickets, candy wrappers, whatever memorabilia)

IMG_4381

On this page I have used some of those triangle banner pieces I made (mentioned in last post as well). I added the word “boo” using some rub-on stickers. The right side page I added what is called a “belly band” and a little embellishment at the bottom to keep the tag from falling out.

IMG_4382

Here you see one of the spider webs I cut out mentioned in a previous post. I only attached it along the corner edge so I could tuck something in. There is another one added on a different page that I did not take a picture of. On the right side is a spider that was on the paper I cut out. I added some black glitter stickles to his legs and some silver liquid pearls to the web line he is hanging from.

IMG_4383

This picture shows a little half page I created that has a tag stuck into it. On the reverse of the flap I added one of the candelabra cut outs I made. This little pocket flap has a section hiding behind it where additional pockets are attached to the next page. The stripy bit you can see is the washi tape I added to some tags that are stuffed into the two small pockets.

IMG_4384

This shows the “split page” pockets I made, they have a tag in each. The books on the left is another rub-on and the right side page webbing I added some more liquid pearls accent.

IMG_4385

This picture shows the last page and back cover where I added a bunch of little pockets for tucking things into. I used a circle punch to create the cutouts.

IMG_4386

I really enjoyed making this and it was not overly complicated so I will be making more of them in other themes.

Next on my list is the Art Journal. I have been watching lots of different youtube videos of ladies who are very talented Art journalists. The things they can paint and draw are amazing to me. I have been putting off doing more in the altered book I showed here: https://bluecrafty.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/paper-and-haul/ simply because I wasn’t really thrilled about what I had done so far and I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go with it. What I have done now is start a completely different book that is much bigger and can allow for a larger assortment of products used. This helped with my “creative block”. I have only done three pages so far and each one may or may not be complete, time will tell as I look back at them and decide if I want to add more. Before I go on to the pictures I just want to say how relaxing it is just to slap whatever I feel like onto the page without worrying about measurements or if a technique is done a certain way, or what it is supposed to mean etc. This is for me to do what I want in a way that makes me happy and allows me to get creative without the restriction of a 4 x 6 space. The only thing I had to buy was modeling paste, the rest is all items I already had, so this is a great way to start using up some of my craft stuff.

This is the first page, I used mod podge to attach three different colors of blue tissue paper to the page. Once that was dry I added the tree branch with birdcage using a stencil and some stamp ink. Two of the little birds are laser cut wood which I have colored and glued to the page. There is a moon rub on and I added the year I started doing this particular book using chipboard I colored. In the corner is a piece of paper with washi tape holding it on that I included a date and notes about the page.

IMG_4390

This page started as a sketch of the large flower and then I added yellow puffy fabric paint on top of. The fabric paint is pretty old lol and useless for any kind of outfit art but I didn’t want to just throw it out and this was a great reason why. When I rub my hand across the paper I can feel that outline and it’s pretty cool. The pink, yellow, blue, and green are all acrylic paints. The flowers and stems at the bottom are a mix of rub on and card-stock stickers. I’m not done with this page, the flowers need some leaves but I haven’t decided how I want to put them on there. Also I want to do more with the sunflower petals.

IMG_4388

On the next picture I first slapped down some blue paint and then added the swirling dots. I also added some spiral swirls which I later didn’t like so I covered them with modeling paste using a brick wall stencil. The texture on those is great! The hearts are cut from old dictionary book paper I got from an order on Ebay; and then I colored the edges and added some glossy accent to it. After that I decided they needed some mod podge. They are glued to the page with some ripped mulberry paper behind them. I went fishing with my husband (not to actually fish) and took a few pictures in black and white to use in some projects; attached is one of the pictures using photo corners from my stash. I have some words stamped out I will be adding as I finish the page. I’m having fun with this art journaling book.

IMG_4389

Lastly here are some more shapes I have cut from that sticky paper I have been hoarding. Now in a more useful shape πŸ™‚

IMG_4391

Thanks for reading, please post any questions you have and I hope you are having a great week in your own crafting and art πŸ™‚

Lady Blue

4 thoughts on “Halloween Mini Album and Art Journal

  1. Halloween album is great! πŸ™‚

  2. Librarian Kat says:

    Really cool Michelle. Keep crafting!

Leave a Reply

