New Art Journal Page & Handmade Book

Took me a couple days to get back to that post I was going to “do tomorrow” lol. Don’t forget to look at my previous post for a link to a blog hop going on where you have a chance to win some great stencils.

Ok on to my stuff, I finished working on the blue page with hearts I showed before. Here it is:

IMG_4415

If you compare it to my previous picture you can see where I added to it. Make sure to click on the picture to make it full sized so you can see the awesome dimension and texture on the page. I added more color around each heart, stamped some background script all over the page, and on the photo. Then I stamped, painted, cut out and attached the word Enjoy. Stamped “what life has to offer” along the spiral and then I called it done.

Next page I have finished is this one:

IMG_4416

I started with using a stencil for the shape of the flowers. I painted each flower and stem. The butterfly are re-purposed from an old card. I didn’t like how the looked so I covered them with black or white Gesso and then used rub on transfers to make them look like fun butterfly. I added wire to them for the antennae and stuck them to the page using pop dot squares. The “grass” at the bottom was done using tissue paper, same with the taller plant object near the spine. Along the top I took old sheet music and tore it up, distressed the edges and glued it on. The saying on this one is “Bloom where you are planted” Which is fitting for a Mil Spouse who has to move around and find a new way of feeling at home, etc.

This next project was started before I moved. I had bought a sketch pad tore the pages out and folded them neatly in half. Then they sat for a few months. I dug out the tutorial video I had saved on Pinterest showing how to do Coptic binding and got to work. I used black chipboard for the cover. Now I have another art journal book that does not have a spiral in the middle of the spread lol.

IMG_4402

Here is a close-up of the extra blue thread detail I added along the spine

IMG_4401

Happy Halloween, here is a link to Fall/Halloween cards

And here is a link to Halloween decorations

Enjoy!

Lady Blue

Leave a Reply

