Dictionary Ephemera

A month or so ago I went on ebay to find some ephemera to use with my mixed media stuff. I found a lady who was selling lots consisting of different types of pages from assorted dictionaries, music sheets, etc. I bought some from her. Ever since then I have wanted to go to a used book store to see if I could locate an old dictionary. Back in Arizona we had a place called Bookman’s and they had an excellent selection of used books and other media. Alas, they don’t have that store here in Louisiana. I did however find a fun place called The Thrifty Peanut. Today we decided to go check them out and see what they had to offer. They are no where near the size of bookman’s but they had a lot of nice things and they had exactly what I was hoping to find.

IMG_4504

On the top is a 1939 German English dictionary which wont upset me at all to rip pages out of haha. Then I found both volumes of the next dictionary, 1962 edition of Webster’s. Price on the German one was $5.99 and each Websters was $6.99 BUT today the were having a 50% off sale (I think because of black Friday?) WIN! I also found a Rand McNally World Atlas from I don’t know when. Paid $2.50. Daughter and husband also picked up a couple books.

Cannot wait to flip through this huge dictionary and look for images to use.

Hope everyone had an awesome Thanksgiving (if you celebrate it) and a fantastic weekend.

Lady Blue

One thought on “Dictionary Ephemera

  1. Librarian Kat says:

    Good idea! Those pictures are very interesting and not your everyday artwork.

Leave a Reply

