Unusual Craft/Art Supplies

After watching a few you tube videos (Donna Downey, Imperfect Impulses to name a couple) I learned of some products that aren’t sold as art/crafting supplies but can certainly be used that way. To start off lets talk about Magic Mesh re-positional adhesive mesh. After doing a search I see that Stampin up sells/sold it but I did not buy it through them. I have had this particular mesh longer than knowing about SU lol.

IMG_4525

As you can see it comes in an assortment of colors at a yard for about $2.00 to $4.00 on up in the listings I see on EBay. Not sure how much SU sells theirs for. But wait look again, that white mesh isn’t the same stuff even though it looks like it. Check this picture out below to see my huge 300 foot roll:

IMG_4527

Holy cow 300 feet of it!! I bet that cost a gajillion! No actually it was about $8.00 from Lowes home center. It is called fibatape and it is self adhesive drywall tape. It is exactly the same stuff lol. And being that it is white you can use markers, inks etc to color it anyway you want. I’ll have mesh tape for years using this huge roll.

So now you know to look in the hardware/home improvement stores for fun things to use too. Here is some more stuff that you can keep a look out for:

IMG_4528

On the far left is some tape stuff with circles, this is also drywall tape. it is white paper with an adhesive back, you’ll find it right next to the mesh tape. Next to that is some silver tape stuff. That is aluminum tape. It is actual aluminum foil with some super super sticky glue to the back (comes with peel off paper on the back). It is made by 3M and if you go in Lowes or similar store just ask for aluminum foil duct tape. My roll is 50yds worth and I think I paid around the same price for it as the other tape stuff. You may find some that has 3M printed all over it but keep looking, they do make it plain as you can see in the photo. Now in perspective I previously posted about that 1/4th inch width foil tape made for Inksentials by Ranger for $2.00 I bought on a shopping haul from Tuesday Mornings. That roll is only 2 1/4 across with about 1/2 inch thick of it being the tape wound on there. Have to cut the 3M tape down for smaller projects but its the SAME stuff!

Also in that picture you can see a white and pink roll. Those are the cloth tape from the band-aid area, the pink is from the athletic department, both were about $4.00 each. Last is a roll of masking tape, which is also sold as freezer tape. You can use stamps with this and make your own washi tapes.

IMG_4532

Here is a roll of paint-able wallpaper. I think this is the most expensive item non “crafting/art” I picked up. It was $17.00 for 20.5″ wide by 56′ long. I will NEVER need to buy any again lol. I thought this would look awesome added as the background on pages, canvas panels etc, to add an additional fun texture.

Next up is napkins, I found these at a Tuesday morning for about $1.50 a packet. They are triple ply so when you peel off just the printed layer it is like tissue paper and can be deco-podged onto things. Such as the cards shown in the following picture. I’ll explain the cards in a future post.

IMG_4529

IMG_4530

Lastly, be on the lookout for random items that might be handy. These little metal clip things were on some sock I purchased. They held each set together in the bundle. I thought it would be fun to alter them and use them as some kind of tab embellishment. If they don’t work then no money lost because they were in essence, trash.

IMG_4531

Hope everyone has had a great weekend, hope your week ahead turns out fabulous too. Make sure to keep an open mind when out shopping on what you can use in place of more costly crafting product items. Helps to think outside the box sometimes 😉

If you know of any fun “replacement” products like I have listed, feel free to share them.
Lady Blue

Leave a Reply

