New Art Journal Pages & “Deck of Cards”

Just a couple of new pages I have done in my 8 1/2″ x 12″ art journal.

I was watching a youtube video and someone was making circles on their page using a stencil. I thought to myself “I can make that” (the stencil not the page 😉 ) So I drug out my old fiskars circle template and proceeded to make several circles on a piece of cardstock paper I had covered with clear packing tape. After cutting the circles out I used the stencil on this page to make the assorted groups of colored circles using acrylic paint. I got out a 12 x 12 Crafter’s Workshop stencil “solace” and used Heidi Swap Color Shine in peach to create the design behind the circles. I added a piece of that drywall mesh I mentioned in the previous post and then outlined the circles with sharpie pens that matched the paint I chose. After that I decided they needed to be more defined so I added the black. Down the right side I used a stamp (I cannot remember the name and the packaging is hiding from me right now) which I colored in more with a gel pen. I also used a grey Zig clean color pen around the circles.

IMG_4533

This page I used several colors of Faber Castell Gel stick Gelatos and water to make the background. I got a cheetah print stencil I found at Walmart and used molding paste to create dimension/texture. I dug through my misc stuff basket and found the puzzle pieces, scrap paper edge, music paper, and some line grunge-board scrap. I also used a piece of the paint-able wallpaper I mentioned in last post which was colored using Tim Holtz alcohol inks, then tore to fit where I wanted. I added some “dribble” using black india ink. I found some Heidi Swap 3d letters in my stash that you color yourself and used my hot pink bingo dauber on them. I toned them down to match the page better by using Tim Holtz distress ink in “dusty concord”. I then glued all the elements down using mod podge and Beacon 3 in 1 craft glue. I also used the Beacon glue to create the heart shape which I colored in using a Zig marker. I used more gelatos and zig marker around the page to blend everything together. I wrote my message using Sharpie paint pen and added some alpha stickers. Last I wrote a tiny note about what the page means (because my daughter asked) and added it inside a tiny vellum envelope which I glued to the page by the flap only. Kind of resembles a wall of graffiti I think.

IMG_4534

Finally here are the cards I mentioned. They were cut from 8.5 x 11 cardstock to be used as ATC’s but I never got around to making any. So instead I turned them into this little deck of prompts. I got this idea from a lady (Kiera Goodhand I think? I’ll have to google it…Just googled and its Kiala Givehand, I was close lol) who is selling her “mixed media inspiration deck”. I didn’t want the whole 52 cards in her deck and had other ideas I thought would be fun prompts so I made my own. Plus I am a cheap-ass. I wrote on each one using a sharpie (I hate my handwriting by the way). I covered the back using a layer from a napkin and mod podged them down. I was able to get 8 done with each napkin. After that dried I distressed them using walnut stain and then stamped the edge using a Dylusions stamp. These are pretty fun to flip through to get an idea or like the original creator said, “deal yourself out a few or grab one at random to help kick start or give you some help with a page you are stuck on.” So if you don’t want to mess with glue and all that, go check hers out and buy them.

IMG_4535

As a gift to myself I signed up for an online art class by Donna Downey. I thought long about if I wanted to do this and if I felt the cost was worth it. Thankfully it has a payment plan where its broken down quarterly and that sounded better on the purse strings. Here is a link to the youtube trailer video for that class for any of you who may be interested in signing up or just want to look at some cool art. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwMNr8eutvM

Happy Creating to all of you!
Lady Blue

3 thoughts on “New Art Journal Pages & “Deck of Cards”

  1. Librarian Kat says:

    Looks like it will be a fun class-as long as you keep up with it right? I hope it is worth it and that you blog the results!

    • Blue Crafty says:

      That is one of the things I like so much about how she is doing the class. You get to download or click and view all the videos and do them at your own pace. So if I have an “off” week and cannot get one done I can do it whenever I do have the time. The video access is mine forever. A whole week to do each weeks, and I’m not being graded if I’m late, sound like a win win lol.
      I will definitely blog my results 🙂

  2. […] Next up is the KIF napkin swap. Napkins can be used many ways to add interest and texture to your mixed media creations. If you remember I used napkins on my idea cards here: https://bluecrafty.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/new-art-journal-pages-deck-of-cards/ […]

Leave a Reply

