Journal Page for Dec 18th

When I put the gesso on this page I had intended to go a completely different route with it. It was going to be like a rainbow of color on there. Once I added the Tim Holtz tissue paper it veered off to become this and I really like how it turned out. I didn’t sit there staring at it and trying to figure out what I wanted to do, I just reached out and grabbed things that felt like they should go on the page. So in the end I felt the saying fit perfectly.

IMG_4552

I used the gesso to make the tissue paper blend into the page, I also added some watered down teal paint all over. Next I used some gelatos around the edge of the page. I took india ink and created the dribble from the edge of the tissue paper by spraying it with some water and holding the book up. To fill in the gap at the top I used a Dylusions border stamp that I colored in using my new Faber-Castell pens. I also used the purple and grey around the butterfly to give it a bit more interest. I put a matched pair of rub-ons in the bottom corners and used watered down gesso to blend them into the page. I took an alphabet/numbers stencil and used a distressing tool to rub through with distress ink. This gave the letters and numbers a ghostly soft look. I used some of the scalloped ovals book paper that I punched out (when I made the petals on a previous page I posted) to give the sentiment a little more pizzazz. They are distressed using a charcoal pencil. I used peacock feather distress ink on the edges of the sentiment.

IMG_4554

Here is a close-up of the embossing I added on the page here and there. The color matches perfect with the marker. I also random stamped using some aqua ink on a swirly kind of stamp and you can see part of that in the picture.

IMG_4555

Here is a close-up of the fabric flower embellishment I added. It has a flat-backed pearl accent added to the center.

Hope you like and feel free to ask any questions.

Happy creating,
Lady Blue

Leave a Reply

