Week 4 “Canvas to Our Imagination”

This one was a little intimidating for me as I don’t like to draw people. I actually erased what I had twice before doing what is there now. I think that also explains the scale of the figure, since it feels like it needed to be bigger.

Here is Donna’s page:

week4

Here is mine. The quote says “This world is but a canvas to our imagination” by Henry David Thoreau:

IMG_4694

First onto the page was some dress pattern tissue paper then a layer of joint compound over it. Donna used something I do not have to create some added texture in the joint compound. I substituted using a rubber stamp I have. You can just make out in the top left corner of the left page where the stamp was used. If you do this, make sure to wash your stamp out right away using an old toothbrush or similar tool so that you get all of the compound out of the grooves. I used a flower stencil and modeling paste to create the flowers.

IMG_4692

Here is a close-up of the figure. I drew it with pencil then went over it with charcoal. Next I used varnish fixative to set the charcoal. Then I went in with neocolors on her. I used some gelatos for the blue on the page.

IMG_4693

Here is a close-up of the texture of the flower and the coloring I used.

I cannot say I had as much fun with this page as I had with say the flower page from week 2 but I did get some practice in doing the human form lol.

I’m still working on the little houses I mentioned in the last post. here is a picture of them so far:

IMG_4678

I think they are really cute and will look great once I finish adding little touches here and there.

I also mentioned I was going to make some smaller versions of my pages but only on canvas. Here is the first one of those. The canvas measures six by six inches.

IMG_4695

I repeated most of the steps I used in the art journal and then added the embellishments. I plan on adding something to the flower centers but haven’t decided what exactly. I think I will also outline the petals with some color.

IMG_4696

Here is a view of one of the flowers. I used rub-ons for the lettering and words on the other one.

IMG_4697

Here is a number plate I got from CTMH, it is very similar to the ones put out by Tim Holtz.

That’s it for today. As I have said before if you want more information about the 48 Weeks class look to the right side of the page and you should find a click-able web blinky to take you there. Might have to scroll back up a little depending on the placement of the post.

Have a great week!
Lady Blue

Leave a Reply

