Week 8 and 9

Ok so I’ve been slacking. Not on doing my pages, but on posting them, so this post is a two-fer.

Week 8 Donna’s:

week8

My week 8:

IMG_4806

This week we were to collage some pages and scraps for a background. I tried out an idea I had for hiding the spiral in the center. I used a piece of tissue paper that was wide enough to go over both pages. I attached it on both sides of the spiral but not to the actual spiral. I used some matte gel medium over the paper to strengthen it up. So far so good, seems to be holding up well. After the layering we went in with gesso and paints to create the abstract look.

IMG_4807

Here is a close-up of a piece of green embossed vellum I used for some texture.

IMG_4808

This is the paper backing from some letter stickers I used on a different page. I felt it work with my overall theme of the pages.

IMG_4809

Here are the numbers I chose for my page. I picked these as they are my birth month and year. Goes along with the “time” as you can see I am nearing 40. The quote says “The most exciting place to discover talent is in yourself”

WEEK 9

Donna’s page:

week9

My page:

IMG_4831

I was inspired by another person’s use of circles in her background paint so I used my distress paint daubers and also a circle pouncer with some other colors to creat the mosaic look. I wanted to break away a little from just copying Donna’s stuff so I decided to go with a different flower shape and color. I really like how they turned out.

IMG_4832

Here is a close-up of the left page flower

IMG_4833

And this is a close-up of the right side flower.

Other than the daubers and some line detail work, this was done with my fingers. Fun to get so messy.

Hope you are having a great time doing art for yourself. have a great “hump day”

Lady Blue

Leave a Reply

