Week 12 and ATC Book

I completed week 12 last week, here is Donna’s version:

week12

Here is my version:

IMG_5026

I also did it in my moleskine journal using the leftover paints.

IMG_5030

Here is my process. First I added some background texture using modeling paste and a stencil. Then I added all kinds of yummy color on the page. I chose colors I thought would look good peeking through after the next step.

IMG_4976

Next I made flower outlines:

IMG_4978

Then I painted in half of the page using black acrylic paint mixed with glazing medium. I wanted the glossy look:

IMG_4982

I had a bunch of paint left over so I prepped a page in my altered book. This is the beginning of a black and white page.

IMG_4981

I added white paint to the top of the page and used a white pen to write the quote on the bottom.

Here are some close-ups of the flower details. I used an assortment of paints, India ink, and pens and also added dimensional dots using liquid pearls. You can also get a better look at the underlying texture on the page.

IMG_5029

IMG_5027

IMG_5028

One of the other things I have done is this ATC book. What is an ATC? It stands for Artist Trading Card and they are the same size as baseball cards. Think of them as mini canvases of artwork. One of the groups I am in on facebook (same one doing the altered book project) is having an ATC swap. This will be my first one. I wanted something to store the cards in that I will make (you make one for yourself along with the ones you send out) along with the ones I will receive in the mail. I took apart a smash book type album I found on clearance at Hobby Lobby and used the covers for it. I recovered it using scrapbook paper I had in my stash. Next I distressed the edges and covered it with decou-page. The letters are chip-board and also from my stash. I covered them with printed tissue paper using the decou-page and then put a coating of UT over it. I glued them to the page and then re punched holes that would work for 3 rings instead of the wire bound holes originally in the book. The final touch is the nice red 7gypsie rings I got for a great bargain at Tuesday Mornings a while ago.

IMG_5275

Here is the inside where you can see the page where the ATC’s will be inserted. The left hand page has a pocket on the other side. You can see the original hole configuration here. Additionally in front of that are two pages with lines that I can write in the different swap theme names and dates.

IMG_5276

I am working on my ATC’s right now, just got my stamp in the mail that will go on the backs. Once I finish I will post some pictures for you to see.

Hope you are having a great week being artsy or crafty 😉
Lady Blue

2 thoughts on “Week 12 and ATC Book

  1. Librarian Kat says:

    Can’t wait to see your ATC’s and maybe you can share some of the ones you get too.

    • Blue Crafty says:

      Sure thing! I have received just one so far but expect 4 more to come along. I think I’m going to see if there are any more ATC swaps going on that I can join up with, they were lots of fun to make.

Leave a Reply

