My First ATCs – KIF Spring Groove

In my last post I showed the ATC book I made to hold the ATC’s I make and will receive in assorted swaps. Today I am showing the ATCs I made. Once I receive all five from my swap partners I will post pictures of them.

Here is my process for making mine.

I started by mod podging patterned tissue paper to some ATC mixed media cards. Looking back I would have chosen a thicker type of paper or add more layers since it seemed a bit thin at the end. The bit of curling you see here was gone by the final step.

IMG_5035

Next I stamped a butterfly from 7Gypsies onto white cardstock using stayz-on. I colored it in using my Spectrum Noir pens and then covered it with liquid glass (glossy accents) from CTMH. While it was still wet I added some glitter. After it was dry I cut it out, chopping off the legs and antenna. I did this because it would be impossible to cut around those lines and have no white left. You’ll see what I did to fix that in the next picture.

IMG_5274

Here you can see where I stamped the image on to the ATC. This allows me to add the one I cut out over it so the legs and antenna are on the butterfly again. I also stamped a bit of a ruler and some lacy border using grey stayz on. Additionally I used black soot distress ink around the edge of the card.

IMG_5278

My next part on the card was to add some molding paste through a Dylusions stencil. I tinted it green sing some craft paint. When It dried I felt it needed to be darker so I went back in using a green Stabilo chalk pencil. Once I completed those I went over the whole card with mod podge to seal it all in.

IMG_5279

My last step on the front was to add a flat backed pearl accent to a flower on each card. Here you can see all the cards ready to be put into envelopes to send out.

IMG_5280

Here is a close-up of the completed card:

IMG_5281

Here they all are in envelopes waiting for addresses of my swap group. I stamped the envelope and added a bit of washi tape to make it extra fun for whoever receives one.

IMG_5282

One thing I forgot to take a picture of was the back. On ATC’s you are supposed to include specific information about the swap name, your name, etc. I found a stamp on Ebay so I didn’t have to write every little thing out. It was like this one:

atc stamp

I had a lot of fun making them and I hope those who get one of mine like it. Not bad for my first ever ATC’s I think 🙂

Hope you have a wonderfully arty/crafty day!
Lady Blue

Leave a Reply

