New Page in my Moleskine

I was feeling a bit inspired after creating my newest batch of ATC’s. I cannot show those yet as I have to put them in the mail today and I don’t want to spoil the surprise for the people getting them. They inspired me to create a new journal page.

To start the page I put down a piece of masking tape in the center. This stops color from seeping through to other pages. Next I covered the pages with gesso. I created the background using Faber Castell Gelatos. I rubbed them around the page using a baby wipe. Once I got the colors how I liked I used a cloud stencil and rubbed the page clean of color through it. A really neat way to make clouds. I got out some molding paste and dabbed it here and there in the water to create the appearance of some small waves coming to shore. The added texture is really fun. The seashells are cut from a napkin then attached to some cream card-stock using gel medium. I then fussy cut them and added a little shading using my new Derwent Inktense pencils. The final step was to put some Aleen’s Paper Glaze over them. I got this far on it and felt a little stumped on what to add to it. I posted the picture to the KIF Facebook group for some creative suggestions.

IMG_5906

After reading the suggestions I dug through my sticker stash and found some things that would go perfect on the page. I added a beach chair, sand castle and two birds, along with some shading here and there. I like how well they go with the page and aren’t weird looking because of being stickers. The stickers are from Creative Memories and I have had them for at least ten years. I also found some summer/beach quotes in my stash. This one seemed to fit perfect with the layout. I used some Liquid Pearl around the edge. If you click on the image you can really zoom in to read the quote and see the details.

IMG_5907

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and a great start to the week.

Leave a Reply

