Steampunk Altered Book

Several months ago I picked up a couple of encyclopedias from a consignment thrift store that was closing down. A couple of weeks ago I was watching a video by Kim Reed on YouTube and I was struck with inspiration on what to do with one of my books.  Here is a video I did a few days ago explaining my Graphic 45 paper haul and the details of the paper and their use in the book.

Yesterday I started work on the cover. Boy it was hard work using that Xacto knife

step 1

Here is where I am today. I progressed much faster when I remembered I have a Dremel tool and can drill out all that stuff a lot easier lol. I have placed a piece of light-weight chipboard behind the page and poked holes to put the brads through to trial-fit the gears. Two of the gears have a larger center hole and cause the gear to flop out of position. I need to figure out a way to stop that so the gears will maintain their alignment so they can spin the next one in line.

step2

Hope this inspires you to create something steampunk. Keep checking back for my progression on this book.

2 thoughts on “Steampunk Altered Book

  1. Kim Reed says:

    Oh wow!, I really like how you’ve notched out the circles to fit the gears in…this really was the perfect book for that theme. I’m looking forward to seeing how this progresses!

Leave a Reply

