Documented Life Week 2

Week two of my journal for Documented Life 2015 complete. This was a lot of fun. The item to use was gesso. So I started off by doing a white gesso layer over the whole spread. I have these tiny containers of paint from some old craft or something and I cannot bear to just toss them since they are still good. So I have been finding different uses for them. I used a light and dark orange all over the page. You can also see one of the flowers I am doing. I did not draw these myself. I used a Folk Art rub on pattern kit I found on clearance at one of the craft/hobby stores. It works similar to the rub-ons but it is graphite so you could erase it like a pencil

IMG_6751
After getting all the flowers down I wanted to add I decided it needed a different border so I used black gesso around the edges.

IMG_6752
Next I used some cream and white to paint the petals. I used yellow in the center and then sprinkled some assorted glitter. I covered the glitter with clear gesso which is showing white in the picture as it was not yet dry.

IMG_6753
The flowers didn’t pop off the page so I outlined them with some black pen in a scribbled way and then used two different colors of pitt pen, smudging them together as I went. I decided I didn’t want to use the same quote they had provided in the prompt because many other people were using it and I wanted something unique. The quote they had was “The beginning is always today.” -Mary Shelley. I drug out my quote dictionary and found something about beginning. My quote comes from Alice In Wonderland.

IMG_6754
Along the way of stamping out the quote I made my first mistake. I covered it up using a piece of paper stamped with the correct word and decided I liked that as part of the look so I changed a few of the other words to be on white paper. I edged them with distress ink and attached them with foam squares.

IMG_6764

IMG_6761

IMG_6766

This was a lot of fun and I managed to get it all done in just a couple of hours. It took me four days to figure out what I wanted to do though haha.

Leave a Reply

